Skip to content
Cambridge Counts — Cambridge, in numbers.Local help →

Cambridge · England

People and living standards

Cambridge council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Cambridge

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cambridge local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 106,680 in 1991 to 149,872 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cambridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 108,031 people in 1996; 149,872 people in 2025. 38.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991106,680
1992108,305
1993109,596
1994107,263
1995107,583
1996108,031
1997108,113
1998109,162
1999109,870
2000109,923
2001109,941
2002109,543
2003111,317
2004112,167
2005117,217
2006116,654
2007115,454
2008116,183
2009116,746
2010120,219
2011122,725
2012124,679
2013127,819
2014130,432
2015133,654
2016136,054
2017138,462
2018141,726
2019143,153
2020143,741
2021145,022
2022148,886
2023150,619
2024151,666
2025149,872
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cambridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,756 people in 1996; 20,448 people in 2025. 22% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,317
199216,831
199317,158
199416,650
199516,788
199616,756
199716,707
199816,896
199916,587
200016,320
200115,999
200215,932
200315,909
200415,615
200515,777
200616,024
200716,320
200816,731
200916,991
201017,306
201117,735
201218,132
201318,691
201419,141
201519,788
201620,175
201720,372
201820,771
201920,806
202020,989
202120,926
202221,115
202321,220
202421,176
202520,448
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cambridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,807 people in 1996; 111,692 people in 2025. 47.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199174,530
199275,621
199376,601
199474,945
199575,178
199675,807
199776,168
199877,143
199978,475
200079,044
200179,590
200279,338
200381,172
200482,395
200587,268
200686,609
200785,069
200885,383
200985,575
201088,448
201190,324
201291,585
201394,012
201495,842
201598,347
2016100,248
2017102,301
2018104,970
2019106,111
2020106,303
2021107,349
2022110,682
2023112,174
2024113,048
2025111,692
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cambridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,468 people in 1996; 17,732 people in 2025. 14.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,833
199215,853
199315,837
199415,668
199515,617
199615,468
199715,238
199815,123
199914,808
200014,559
200114,352
200214,273
200314,236
200414,157
200514,172
200614,021
200714,065
200814,069
200914,180
201014,465
201114,666
201214,962
201315,116
201415,449
201515,519
201615,631
201715,789
201815,985
201916,236
202016,449
202116,747
202217,089
202317,225
202417,442
202517,732
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 145,674 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cambridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh21,62614.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,5612.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7,4105.1%
White108,57074.5%
Other ethnic group4,5073.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 123,867 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cambridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,20582.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,9443.2%
Asian/Asian British13,61811%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,0971.7%
Other ethnic group2,0031.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 108,863 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cambridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White97,36589.4%
Mixed2,1412%
Asian/Asian British4,0853.8%
Black/Black British1,4611.3%
Chinese/Other3,8113.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cambridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,691 per person in 1997; £27,979 per person in 2024. 139.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,691
199811,928
199912,686
200013,315
200113,671
200214,341
200314,461
200415,209
200515,656
200616,508
200717,421
200817,747
200918,230
201018,003
201117,899
201218,483
201319,048
201419,940
201520,636
201621,092
201721,362
201821,590
201922,856
202022,396
202122,986
202224,201
202326,310
202427,979
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cambridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 10.2% in 1997; 7.8% in 2024. 2.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cambridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199710.2
199810.2
199912.2
200011.9
200110.5
200213.4
200310.9
200412.1
200511.4
200612.7
200713.5
200812.7
200913.9
201011.5
20119.9
20129.4
20138.8
201410.3
20158.5
20169.5
20178.4
20185.8
20198.5
20206.7
20215.2
20225.4
20237.6
20247.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

13.3%

21 March 2021 · Cambridge local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

9.6%

21 March 2021 · Cambridge local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.2%

21 March 2021 · Cambridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£475,000

July 2026 · Cambridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,805

August 2026 · Cambridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.